Getting Baby to Sleep

My son will be 1 in a few days and we have had the hardest year with sleep issues!  There are lots of tips and trick about how to get your baby to sleep.  I feel like I tried everything and it would just make things worse.  I know it is normal for babies to wake up at night, but it can be frustrating!  Missing sleep has been the hardest thing for me.  My 2 oldest were great sleepers from 2 months on.  I couldn’t figure out why this baby wouldn’t sleep.  Was I doing something wrong, was there some medical issue that kept him from sleeping?  I tried Cry-It-Out (it worked for my other 2), but he would never give up.  I couldn’t bear to hear him cry anymore.   I tried soothing, rocking, soft music, a warm room, sleeping with him, anything I could think of.

Finally, someone suggested Lavender.  Why, oh why, didn’t I ever think of that?  It has been 1 week since I have been using Lavender Essential Oil and it is working!  Every night he sleeps a little longer.  Last night he slept from 8 pm until 6:30 am!

lavender

Before bed, I fill up a glass bowl with water and bring it to a boil in the microwave.  Then, I carefully carry it to his room and add a drop of Lavender Essential Oil.  I close his bedroom door and let the Lavender steam his room.  It smells wonderful!  I also add a drop of Lavender to a tissue and put it under his sheet.  I nurse him in his room and he drifts off to sleep in no time.

I am now a firm believer in Aromatherapy!.  I had heard of the benefits, but I never though to pursue it.  I will now keep a bottle of Lavender in the house at all times.  The next time I hear of a baby having trouble sleeping, I will recommend Lavender Essential Oil!

I believe Lavender has saved my sanity!

What Aromatherapy tips to you have?

Best,

Kristen

Leave a Reply

